How to hit an URL to download a file ?

RaylightRaylight Member ✭✭
edited September 2018 in Xamarin.Forms

Hello i'm a beginner in xamarin,

been trying to download a .zip file from an adresse (if i paste the adress to my browser the download start)
Already tried the DownloadManager plugin with the sample they give on there github
var downloadManager = CrossDownloadManager.Current; var file = downloadManager.CreateDownloadFile(url); downloadManager.Start(file);
but its not working for me, i download somekind of .bin.
My question is simple (and i think the answer to) how can i hit this URL within my app to get the file on my phone ?
Thanks for your time and have a good day !

Edit : i'm working on visual studio with latest update and its a .NETstandard project (not shared)

Best Answer

Answers

• RaylightRaylight Member ✭✭
    edited September 2018

Update : found some answer (i hope cause still have error and can't test the code) var webClient = new WebClient(); webClient.DownloadDataCompleted += (s, e) => { var bytes = e.Result; string documentsPath = Environment.GetFolderPath(Environment.SpecialFolder.Personal); string localFilename = "checklist.zip"; string localPath = Path.Combine(documentsPath, localFilename); File.WriteAllBytes(documentsPath, bytes); }; webClient.DownloadDataAsync(new Uri(url));

Now i got this error : System.UnauthorizedAccessException: 'Access to the path "any path it tried' is denied.
    Have seen a lot of people with the same troubles (already tried git read/write access to the app in android.manifest).
    If you think i'm on the right way to resolve my first question please tell me and if you have some clues every help is welcome !

Update : i'm so desesparate, don't manage to made the last sample wrking.
    I'm now reduce to use Device.OpenUri to download my file.
    Anyone can help ?

• JoeMankeJoeManke USMember ✭✭✭✭✭