Unit Testing and Async / Await

CameronVetter.6636CameronVetter.6636 USMember, University

I'm new to Xamarin and have been using Xamarin studio for about a week, and have been struggling to get the Unit testing to function properly with async calls. I'm hoping I just don't understand how to use it properly and it actually works right with async calls, but I'm starting to wonder. If I have a test method:

[Test]
        async public void Create ()
        {
            var charactersObject = new Characters ("unitTestToken");
            Characters.Character expected = new Characters.Character ();

expected.userId = "123456";
            expected.name = "TestUser";

var actual = await charactersObject.Create (expected);

Assert.AreEqual (expected.userId, actual.userId, "User Id are not equal");
            Assert.AreEqual (expected.name, actual.name, "Name are not equal");
            Assert.AreNotEqual (0, actual.id);
        }

and have the following code:

async public Task Create (Character newCharacter)
        {
            byte[] byteArray = System.Text.Encoding.UTF8.GetBytes(newCharacter.toJSON());

string url = BASE_URL + VERSION + "Characters";
            var request = (HttpWebRequest)HttpWebRequest.Create (new Uri (url));
            request.Method = "POST";
            request.ContentType = "application/json";
            request.Headers.Add ("authorization", authorization_token);
            request.ContentLength = byteArray.Length;

Stream writer = await request.GetRequestStreamAsync ();
            writer.Write (byteArray, 0, byteArray.Length);
            await writer.FlushAsync ();
            writer.Close ();

WebResponse ar = await request.GetResponseAsync ();
            var s = new StreamReader(ar.GetResponseStream ());

string json = await s.ReadToEndAsync ();

return new Character (json);
        }