How to eject an external drive in C# on MacOS

Mr.XMr.X CAMember ✭✭

Hopefully this is the right forum - I cannot find anything about this on the 'net. What function can I use to properly eject an external drive using C# on MacOS?

Best Answer

Answers

• ChrisHamonsChrisHamons USForum Administrator, Xamarin Team Xamurai

I'd start by searching for "macos unmount usb API", which will bring you towards "man diskutil" and some stack overflow posts.

• Mr.XMr.X CAMember ✭✭

Thank you for your reply.
    I have searched the 'NET pretty exhaustively already. The only command I've found is using terminal and the command line. "diskutil unmount {drive name}"
    Is there no .NET library function? Nothing in System.IO or anywhere? No Xamarin/Mono function?

• Mr.XMr.X CAMember ✭✭

Unsure, maybe that NSWorkspace API does the same thing? Have you tried it?

• Mr.XMr.X CAMember ✭✭

I have not. I'm completely new to Mac programming. I was hoping to find some sources of info on C# .NET programming for Mac but there is so little out there.
    I appreciate you trying to help.

• Mr.XMr.X CAMember ✭✭

Any idea where I can find information on using that MonoMac library in a C# .NET program?

As you are new to Xamarin.Mac, I would start with the documentation listed here:

https://forums.xamarin.com/discussion/31680/welcome-to-the-xamarin-mac-forums-and-faq#latest

In particular https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/xamarin/mac/platform/target-framework explains a bit about the differences between BCLs and what libraries can be reused under what target frameworks.

• Mr.XMr.X CAMember ✭✭

Thank you, I've read through all of that now, and it doesn't seem to help...