WPF vs UWP

wsyeagerwsyeager Member ✭✭

**Hi everybody. I'm new to Xamarin and wanted to ask a couple of detailed questions I hope some people can answer.

I am an experienced developer that is 60 years old and want to _completely _get away from web programming. There are just too many technologies that you are forced to keep up with along with the pace that they are released as opposed to Xamarin or WPF (read below for more details).

I have anywhere from 5 to 10 years left to go before I retire. Even after retirement, if I get bored, I would like to be able to possibly do some freelance or contracting work. I got into the industry working with IBM mainframe computers and COBOL. I taught myself Visual Basic and C#, and obviously moved onto different technologies from there; mainly web. I am not interested in doing any more web technologies at all. Mobile would be completely different since there are a lot less technologies to learn and master (see below).

I have figured out that I definitely want to be able to learn Xamarin which targets iOS, Android, and UWP (see the attached file for links). My problem is with the UWP or WPF (see more detail below). Which way do I go?

The first 3 links in the attachment refer to Xamarin based information. I feel that since Xamarin and WPF just use XAML & C# (2 technologies) to create applications, instead of the 12 or so technologies (C#, HTML, HTML5, CSS, jQuery, Ajax, Bootstrap, WebForms, MVC, Razor, AngularJS, JavaScript, TypeScript) used to create a web application, that it would be worth my while to learn and hopefully not cause me a lot of distress. Many developers I have talked to share this same view about the complexity of the web technology. It has morphed into a monstrosity!