[Xamarin Blog] Background Audio Streaming with Xamarin.Android

JamesMontemagnoJamesMontemagno USForum Administrator, Xamarin Team, Developer Group Leader Xamurai
edited January 2014 in Xamarin.Android

Just posted: Background Audio Streaming with Xamarin.Android on the Xamarin Blog.

Read the full article to learn how to up stream music in a background service in Xamarin.Android and take advantage of notifications.

Use this thread to discuss or ask questions.

• DannyDanny USMember

Doesn't this cause hiccups on android devices when the GC runs? I've run into this issue many times with larger programs and have had to go out of process to solve this.

• crocacroca ARMember

Hello James, I'm a beginner with Xamarin Android, i'm trying to play MP3 based on PendingIntent triggered when using AddProximityAlert.
    I was trying to use part of your sample, the problem is, your code implement Android.Content.Content Intent in the MainActivity SendAudioCommand, but I need to use an Android.App:PendingIntent Intent. I cannot compile.
    Is there any suggestion/idea you can provide?.
    I will try to figure it out in the meantime.
    Thanks in advance

• JamesMontemagnoJamesMontemagno USForum Administrator, Xamarin Team, Developer Group Leader Xamurai
    edited February 2014

@Danny, I have not seen this be an issue at all since the audio is streaming as a foreground service. This is the design pattern that Google put in place, so it shouldn't be an issue.

@croca, I am not positive on that one, do you have a small code example that you could share?

• MichalMandryszMichalMandrysz USMember

Hi @JamesMontemagno‌,
    Is there a way to make it stream m3u files?

Thanks,

• JamesMontemagnoJamesMontemagno USForum Administrator, Xamarin Team, Developer Group Leader Xamurai
    edited March 2014