Variables for controls in code behind

Hi, I am new with Xamarin form, but I'm not with visual studio. I know that the xaml files have a code behind class, and I also know that when I add a control in the xaml file and add a x:Name propery, I should be able to access that control in code behind, but this is not happening in my visual studio for max.
If i add for example in my xaml something like

In the code behind class I should have a variable called myView of type Xamarin.Forms.Entry.
I can only get it by compiling /clean build several times, but this is really annoying. Have you exeperienced a similar behaviour ? If yes, how have you solved it?

Many thanks

Tagged:

Answers

• AlessandroCaliaroAlessandroCaliaro ITMember ✭✭✭✭✭
    > @simone.1127 said:
    > Hi, I am new with Xamarin form, but I'm not with visual studio. I know that the xaml files have a code behind class, and I also know that when I add a control in the xaml file and add a x:Name propery, I should be able to access that control in code behind, but this is not happening in my visual studio for max.
    > If i add for example in my xaml something like
    >
    >
    >
    > In the code behind class I should have a variable called myView of type Xamarin.Forms.Entry.
    > I can only get it by compiling /clean build several times, but this is really annoying. Have you exeperienced a similar behaviour ? If yes, how have you solved it?
    >
    > Many thanks

I don’t n see your xaml code
  • simone.1127simone.1127 USMember

Hi,
    I don't know why the code is missing, by the way it is a very simple piece of code:

<Entry x:Name="myview"></Entry>

typing it, it does not generate a variable called myview in code behind

• ClintStLaurentClintStLaurent USUniversity ✭✭✭✭✭

Article on posting your code so the site parser doesn't mangle/eat/loose it
    https://redpillxamarin.com/2016/12/13/faq-frequently-asked-questions/

I should be able to access that control in code behind