Acessing shared code from native

I am new to this and one thing I have trouble of finding information about, is how to access shared code from native code. The other way around is ok, and there is multiple resources and examples about DependencyService and how to create native spesific code, and accessing it from shared code.

But the other way around? Some native event triggers something which should modify something in the shared space. I can access methods like App.Current.MainPage.DisplayAlert, but how about custom methods?

Answers

• seanydaseanyda GBMember ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited October 2017

I might have misunderstood the question, but if you're using Xamarin.Forms, all your main code is shared across the portable class library, so you will be wanting as much code as possible to be in there and as little as possible in the platform specific projects (because if there is code in the native projects, it means you'll be rewriting it 2-3 times).

So you'll only want to be taking code from the platform specific projects, you won't want code from the PCL if you're in the platform specific project. (correct me if I'm wrong)

So this is what you will want to refer to:
    https://developer.xamarin.com/guides/xamarin-forms/application-fundamentals/dependency-service/introduction/

If I wanted to access a reference that is inaccessible from the PCL like using System.IO. I would have to create an interface in the PCL, and a method in the platform specific like the below:

public void WriteLocalFile(string FileName, string Data)
            {
                string filePath = Path.Combine(PersonalFolderPath, FileName);
                File.WriteAllText(filePath, Data);
            }

This code will work in the platform specific, not the PCL. I would have an interface which contains this line so I can access that from the shared project

void WriteLocalFile(string FileName, string Data);