Forum Xamarin.Forms

distance between two coordinates using geocoder

bageegbageeg SDMember ✭✭

I get coordinates for to address using geocoder and i want to calculate the distance between the two address in kilometers

Best Answer

• bageegbageeg SDMember ✭✭
    Accepted Answer

thank you too much for help, Unfortunately I dont know how do to that because I am still new in xamarin, If anyone help me to edit my code correctly its a great help, thank again

Answers

• CharllieACharllieA USMember ✭✭
    edited September 2017

Google API can provide it. Or you can compute it app side with less precision. With a such library or another one PCL compatible if it's not : https://github.com/karl-sjogren/Shorthand.Geodesy

• N_BauaN_Baua INMember ✭✭✭✭✭

@bageeg ,

Follow the MSDN for C# code

Sample Code can be

var FromLocA = new GeoCoordinate(sLatitude, sLongitude);
    var ToLocB = new GeoCoordinate(eLatitude, eLongitude);
    return FromLocA.GetDistanceTo(ToLocB); 

---- Note: This returns distance in meters, so Km is a easy conversion.

Hope it helps.

N Baua

thank you for help, I using this code to get the coordinates in very simple way, how to put your code correctly in my code to get dustance

async void OnGeocodeButtonClicked(object sender, EventArgs e)
    {
    if (!string.IsNullOrWhiteSpace(inputEntry.Text))
    {
    var pickupaddress = inputEntry.Text;
    var approximateLocations = await geoCoder.GetPositionsForAddressAsync(pickupaddress);
    foreach (var position in approximateLocations)
    {
    geocodedOutputLabel.Text += position.Latitude + ", " + position.Longitude + "\n";
    }
    if (!string.IsNullOrWhiteSpace(inputEntry2.Text))
    {
    var pickoffaddress = inputEntry2.Text;
    var approximateLocations2 = await geoCoder.GetPositionsForAddressAsync(pickoffaddress);
    foreach (var position in approximateLocations2)
    {
    geocodedOutputLabel2.Text += position.Latitude + ", " + position.Longitude + "\n";
    }
    I am new in xamarin
    thanks