How to delete an item from a ListView in MVVM

GrinenkoAGrinenkoA USMember ✭✭

Hi, I am new to Xamarin, Forms and MVVM, so this might sound a little dumb, but what is the proper way to delete an item from a ListView? I tried to do it with a ContextAction, but I can't figure a way to know in my ViewModel which item to delete from the ObservableCollection. Binding the SelectedItem of the ListView does not help, since a long tap on Android or a swipe on iOS don't select the item. I use Prism with Unity for MVVM, if this is of any importance. Here's my ListView:

<ListView x:Name="List" ItemsSource="{Binding Users}" HasUnevenRows="True">
    <ListView.Behaviors>
        <b:EventToCommandBehavior EventName="ItemTapped" Command="{Binding SelectUserCommand}" EventArgsConverter="{converters:ItemTappedEventArgsConverter}"/>
    </ListView.Behaviors>
    <ListView.ItemTemplate>
        <DataTemplate>
            <ViewCell x:Name="Item">
                <ViewCell.ContextActions>
                    <MenuItem Text="Delete" BindingContext="{Binding Source={x:Reference List}, Path=BindingContext}" Command="{Binding DeleteCommand}" CommandParameter="{Binding .}" IsDestructive="True"/>
                </ViewCell.ContextActions>
                <Grid Padding="10">
                    <Label Style="{DynamicResource ListItemTextStyle}" Grid.ColumnSpan="2" Text="{Binding Name}"/>
                    <Label Style="{DynamicResource ListItemDetailTextStyle}" Grid.Row="1" Text="{Binding Login}"/>
                    <Label Style="{DynamicResource ListItemDetailTextStyle}" Grid.Row="1" Grid.Column="1" Text="{Binding Role}"/>
                </Grid>
            </ViewCell>
        </DataTemplate>
    </ListView.ItemTemplate>
</ListView>

And the corresponding ViewModel (I removed some code to save space):

public class MainPageViewModel : BindableBase, INavigatedAware
{
    //services
    INavigationService _navigationService;
    IPageDialogService _dialogService;

//fields and props