Some very basic newbie questions

YossuYossu Yossu BonkersGBMember

Hello,

I've only just come across Xamarin, so please bear with me if these are dumb questions, but it looks exactly what I need, but I want to make sure it is before investing too much time into it.

I'm a long-time C# developer, mainly concentrating on WPF applications, using MVVM, backed up by WCF services, Entity Framework models and so on. I'm interested in developing versions of our software to run on Android and iOS, which is why I'm looking at Xamarin.

So, can anyone help me with these questions...

1) Can I develop basically the same app for both platforms? From what I've seen, it looks like I can, but just keep two view layers, one for each platform, but I would like someone to confirm that I got this right.

2) How do I distribute my apps? I'm not looking at mass market apps, I'm looking at producing versions of bespoke customer software, which would only be available to the customer who paid for it. As far as I can see, you can't do this with Android/iOS, as it looks like everything has to be downloaded from the app store / marketplace.

3) What exactly do I need? I already have Visual Studio 2010 and 2012, and realise that I would need a copy of Xamarin itself. I would probably go for the version that integrates with VS, as I'm used to that environment. Do I need anything else? I've seen mention of needing a Mac to build iOS aps. Is this right? If so, can I use a virtual Mac, or do I need a real physical one?

Sorry of these are dumb questions, but this is a whole new area of development for me, and I want to know what I'm getting into before I start.

Thanks for any help.

Best Answers

Answers

• YossuYossu Yossu Bonkers GBMember

Not sure if it's relevant, but rereading my post, I didn't make it clear that I'm only interested in mobile devices, such as phones and tablets, not in developing for full Mac desktop/laptop machines.

Hi Chris, thanks for the reply.